rss YouTube Logo Facebook Logo twitter Logo linkedin tumblr Logo YouTube Logo

  • The Mixolydian Mode

    The Mixolydian Mode is the fifth Mode of the Major scale and it contains 7 notes:

    R, 2, 3, P4, P5, 6, b7

    In the C Mixolydian Mode the notes are:

    C, D, E, F, G, A, Bb, C

    Below I have listed all of the one and two octave positions that I use for playing the Lydian mode. Some start with the 1st finger on your frethand whereas others start with the 2nd finger and the final examples start with your 3rd and 4th fingers. Feel free to play around with them and experiment with fingering of your own.

    One Octave Positions

    Mixolydian Mode One Octave  

    Two Octave Positions

    Mixolydian Mode 2 Octaves  

    Make sure that you practice the Mixolydian Mode in all 12 keys on the Guitar!