rss YouTube Logo Facebook Logo twitter Logo linkedin tumblr Logo YouTube Logo

  • The Phrygian Mode

    The Phrygian Mode is the third Mode of the Major scale and it contains 7 notes:

    R, b2, b3, P4, P5, b6, b7

    In a C Phrygian Mode the Notes are:

    C, Db, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb

    Below I have listed all of the one and two octave positions that I use for playing the Phrygian mode. Some start with the 1st finger on your frethand whereas others start with the 2nd finger and some start with your 4th finger. Feel free to play around with them and experiment with fingering of your own.

    An easy way to remember the Phrygian Mode is to note that it is an Aeolian Mode with a flattened 2nd- so only one note is different.

    One Octave Positions

    Phrygian Mode One Octave  

    Two Octave Positions

    Phrygian Mode 2 Octaves  

    Make sure that you practice the Phrygian Mode in all 12 keys on the Guitar!