rss YouTube Logo Facebook Logo twitter Logo linkedin tumblr Logo YouTube Logo

  • Symmetrical Scales: Tritone Scale

    Symmetrical Scales are scales that are marked by interval patterns within one or two octaves. There are four types of Symmetrical scale based around one or more interval patterns repeated in a cycle. They are particularly useful for improvising over extended and altered chords

    Tritone Scale

    The Tritone Scale is made up by the root triad followed by the triad that is a Tritone away from the Root. The Tritone Scale can be used to solo over 7th chords that have a b9 and #11. The intervals go as follows:

    R b2(b9) 3 b5(11) 5 b7 R

    Notice how in the key of C how we combine a C triad with the Gb triad that is a Tritone away:

    C Db E Gb G Bb C

    Try learning this scale in all 12 keys to gain full understanding and then incorporate it into your soloing over a 7th chord to hear it in context.

    tritone scale  

    Once you have this scale mastered, pick a standard out of your jazz repertoire and incorporate these in the relevant places to add some colour and diversity to your solos!